Baba turns 90

The news of our second president turning 90 during the start of this month was a refreshing piece of news to the country. The man is a living African icon. Whether we admit it or not, we can’t just sweep 24 years of his rein under the dusty red carpet of our history.

The man who took the leadership baton from our founding father, Mzee Jomo Kenyatta has done and seen it all. He has probably outlived and outdone most of his political rivals. This got my attention, no its not the out living your rivals part. The Living part.

How do you live to see 90 years? Still fit in a well tailored suit, run your business and share your success with your prodigy.

This really challenged me, so I got to picking out the man’s strengths. I set out to see what I could learn from this truly great African leader.

Now everyone knows Baba was a no nonsense person. He did what he thought was right and nobody could change his mind. This could be a very useful trait to acquire from him.

If you want anything done right, do it yourself. I know he rarely did the dirty work but he was always clearly involved in everything he was interested in.

Here I am taken back to my years as a child. Every day my pops would come back tired from work but he would make sure we had our evening talk. The first thing he’d ask me was what I had done that day. Most of the times I would have a lie ready but now I see sense in his philosophy

Every new day, have a goal set. It doesn’t have to be something life changing but progress is way better than doing the same thing over and over.

I also would love to live up to 90 years but not as a grumpy old man, dissatisfied with life and everyone around. I am doing research on how to lead a happy life, I might have to do a profile on Baba while at it too.

As I sign out, I feel purpose and the urge to take control of my life taking first priority. I would love to wish the real Baba a belated happy 90th birthday

Leave a comment