The Gloved Titan: a boxers story

Maybe it’s the thrill of the crowd,
The mad applause at the sight of brains getting bashed,
Adrenaline pumping through the body like a bomb ready to detonate,
Even crazier is the thought of tearing up your opponent,
Across the mat it doesn’t matter if they over weigh you,
Nothing in life is ever easy,
You ever seen how any of those beggars on the street get there?
Well I know how I got to this insane platform,
I never was a genius with the books,
Fixing stuff wasn’t my thing either,
But all wasn’t lost.
I had the courage of a witty fox,
The fierceness of a wounded animal,
I wasn’t born into boxing,
My father might have been an enthusiast,
Taken me to matches whenever he could spare some bottle money,
The training was the hardest part,
My coach who also happened to be my part time boss since I enrolled for breaking noses and jaws.
But after the long fight nights, when the lights faded out.
I slumped in bed and nursed my wounded self.
In my line of work you don’t have much time for a social life,
And I don’t mean the flashy events and pre match publicity,
Everyone acts like you’re different,
Probably thinking you have too many friends,
Meet a lot of people who’s names you can’t recall,
The small circle you have is either intimidated by your status or in different all together since you rarely have time for friends.
But for those long five minutes in a round,
You feel alive,
The sound of your name echoing through the masses,
Sending your adrenaline through the roof,
You circle in for the kill,
Duck a left,  get caught by a right, Your prey is almost in the position you want,
Like a wounded animal you pounce,
A few blurry blows and they’re losing concentration,
Exposing their left to a ferocious right hook.
Landed at the right time probably very brutal,
You see the shoulder lowered,
You lunge in.
A near perfect hit.
They stagger, fall on one knee.
Then collapse.
Out for the count.
They’re out!
The moment is beyond words,
Masses pushing towards you,
Hoping to get a glimpse of their champion.
Suddenly all the pain from endured pounding washes away,
Victorious again!
Live to fight another day.

Leave a comment